Ashbourne Cricket
Ashbourne Cricket Club

While the name Ashbourne Cricket Club was first established in 2013, the Ashbourne area has a history of cricket. From the late 1800’s up until around 1910, there were cricket teams scattered across various parts of the locality, such as Kilbrew, Muckerstown, Ratoath, Ballymadun, Donaghmore etc. These teams were mostly comprised of local workers/farmers that would have worked for local lords/landowners. These landowners would have competed against other local landowners in cricket.

In June 2013, three local residents, Terry Bruton, Sean Smith and Renjith Champonthayil arranged to meet up at a location that would become our home ground, the Ashbourne Community Centre playing fields. Immediately they set a number of short term goals in order to get the ball rolling on creating what would become Ashbourne Cricket Club.

Their main goal for 2014 was to get Ashbourne Cricket Club up and running.


The great news is all goals were met and ever since the club and its members has grown in strength.
In 2015 we will being playing over 20 competitive games. 9 home and 9 away across 4 competitions (Leinster Cricket Union League Division 16, Minor 2 Cup, Dick O’ Neil Cup and a T20 Cup). Find out more about these fixtures



Ashbourne Cricket Club are always looking for new members no matter what age, gender, or how experienced they are.  Find Out More About Getting Involved.

Club Sponsors

The Ashbourne Club offer a number of Sponsorship options, from Shirt Branding, Ground/Scoreboard to Website advertising packaged. Please do get in touch to find out more.